diy: stacked planter

stacked planter diy

When I was home this past weekend my mom had this project waiting to be assembled. I had no idea the thought of this project even existed until she said, “Let’s build my planter!” And even though I had no idea what she was talking about, without hesitation I agreed and we went to it.

She found the idea on pinterest from the blog homestories a to z.

Here’s what we used:

  • 6 terra cotta pots of varying sizes
  • spray paint
  • 4 bricks
  • 1 piece of rebar
  • potting soil
  • flowers
And here’s what we did:

(This step was already done by the time I joined in on the project.)

To figure out how long our rebar had to be we laid out the pots on the ground how we thought they would stack up and measured it. You need some length to pound into the ground so add 24″.  We ended up needing a 76″ piece. 

Before moving on, a bit of shameless self promotion:
Ahh, how great is this pic?! You may have seen it on my facebook page. Want more sneak peeks of great pics? Like my facebook page by clicking here!

We got my dad to cut the rebar for us. Thanks for braving the sparks, dad!

Use a hammer to pound the rebar into the ground.

Now its time for the fun part! We made a small base of four bricks stacked Jenga-style to raise it up a little higher. Then simply thread each pot through the rebar filling each one with dirt as you go.

I made a fun little animated gif to show you the process.

Once all the pots are stacked and filled with dirt, pretty it up with some flowers! We used pink and white impatiens, wishbone, vinca vine, and creeping jenny. I can’t wait to see how looks when it fills out! So pretty! And what a fabulous and simple weekend project to help beautify your yard!

17 thoughts on “diy: stacked planter

  1. Pingback: round up: colorful planters | stuff steph does

    • Rebar is a steel rod that is added to concrete to reinforce walls and floors. You can get it at Lowe’s or Home Depot for under 10 bucks.

  2. I LOVE this! I’ve been dying to make one, but I live in an apartment. I think it would be super cute on my balcony, but obviously I can’t pound the rebar into the ground. Do you think there’s another way I could stabilize it and make it work?

    • hmmm, It has some inherent stability since the rebar is buried in the dirt in the bottom pot. It might ok as is if you have it on the balcony in the corner where it would be protected from the wind? Or maybe you could hook it to a wall? You could also just make it a little shorter so its not as wobbly? Let me know if it works out!

      • As long as you leave a drainage hole, you could also make sure to put some concrete into the bottom pot to give it extra weight at the bottom to make it more stable. Just a thought. 🙂

  3. So cute, I love the color she chose! I saw one of these at a garage sale this weekend, they are so whimsical. I must make one! Thanks for sharing!!

  4. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award, Really? | btweenblinks

  5. Pingback: Kunstige potten - Zelf maken | Tuinieren.nl

Leave a Reply

