Button Scarf (pattern)

purple knit scarf

I made this scarf a while ago, but then I wasn’t sure if I liked the fabric button…

…I’ve decided I do, and it’s blog worthy.

Like all the scarf patterns I’ve put on here, this one is also very simple. It is just a rectangle that is folded over and then buttoned through both layers. Refer to this handy diagram I made for you:

scarf dimensions

I did a seed stitch which is knit one/purl one on every row. That way you end up with an alternating pattern that gives it a nice texture. I used size 11 needles.

I got the fabric for the button at Sew To Speak, but if you have any sort of fabric stash, you’ll definitely have enough for covering a button. I must have had large ambitions of making lots of covered buttons with all the fabric I got for the sole purpose of this project.

If you’ve never covered a button before, don’t worry, its super easy.

covering a button

I would suggest getting the buttons with the little teeth around the edges. The buttons without the teeth require another tool to put it together. Make your life simpler, have less tools! You can get the buttons at any fabric or craft store.

button teeth

Then you just cover the fabric over the button, hook it under the teeth all the way around and snap on the bottom piece. Sew on the scarf wherever you like.

see? What’d I tell ya, easy peasy!

3 thoughts on “Button Scarf (pattern)

  1. Hi

    Would you please consider sharing your pattern? I would love to make some of these for my girls. Thank you so much. Happy knitting.

    Liz

Leave a Reply

