fancy pizza night (recipe)

**sigh** I fear that I’m not going to have posts this week of “made” stuff. I have a lot of different things going, but nothing finished yet. Sorry guys! More made stuff is on its way. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep your attention anyhow.

It’s funny, one reason I started the blog was to motivate me to actually do some of the things I’ve been wanting to do…somehow the blog holds me accountable. But now I’ve been reading so many other blogs, pinteresting, and searching for various tutorials that my list of things-to-do-so-I-can-blog-about-them is getting crazy long! **sigh** (that’s right, I just sighed twice!) Point being, stuff will get done and blogged about, just not this week.

Luckily, I have to eat every day, at least three times in fact. So there’s a good chance that I’ll make at least one thing worth sharing a week (let’s see 1 out of 21….less than 5% of my food needs to be bloggable! I think can handle that)

I dubbed this past Saturday as “fancy pizza night.”  And boy, what a great idea that was! The plan spontaneously occurred in the grocery store parking lot, so I quickly began searching for “fancy pizza” recipes on my phone in order to make a proper list before actually going inside.

I found this recipe and decided to go for it. I used:

  • smallest package you can find of chicken breast tenders
  • 2+ tbs butter
  • garlic – (I always put in more than the recipe says…)
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 roma plum tomatoes, diced
  • chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 C ricotta cheese
  • shredded parm
  • pizza crust
The early schemes of my fancy pizza night plan included actually making the dough, too. 5 minutes later I realized that this plan was much too impulsive to let bread rise for 2 hours! I got that just-add-hot-water mix and made a dough in a matter of minutes. Maybe the next fancy pizza night will have fancy dough, because there will be another fancy pizza night…
The recipe says to boil the chicken….boil it?! I cooked it in a skillet with some spices so it had some flavor to it.
Melt the butter with the garlic and green onion in a small skillet and put that aside.
Chop up the tomatoes and cilantro, make the dough and start assembling! Put the garlic butter sauce on the bottom, then the chicken, veggies, and ricotta cheese. I baked it according the directions on the dough package (not the online recipe). I also made two smaller pizzas rather than one large one, (doesn’t that just seem more artisan-like?)
(note: you don’t need much chicken at all. I ended up saving most of it and put it on salads the next day. If you have some leftover chicken go for fancy pizza!)
Garlic Chicken Pizza and Brothers Drake Mead
I didn’t really pre-plan on blogging this so unfortunately I only have one photo for the whole post, but look how good that looks!
Leave a Reply

