A Winter Stew (recipe)

Winter came to Columbus this week, so I found it only fitting to make a hearty warm stew for dinner (plus I got a subscription to a food magazine and it was in there, sounded good, and thought, why not?)

It’s a slow cooker recipe, which I usually try and save for week nights, but I’m glad I did this one on my day off because there was kind of a lot of prep.

My camera battery was charging, so I took all these pics with my phone…I was playing with the fun vintage settings…takes cool pics (and it’s not even an iphone!)

snow on leaves

The Ingredients:

  • 6 T plus 1/2 C flour, divided
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 1/2 # boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • 4 t EVOO
  • 3 pieces bacon, chopped
  • 1 14oz can Guinness or other stout beer
  • 1 # carrots
  • 8 oz package mushrooms
  • 2 C chopped onion
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 t dried thyme (you could go without this much if you wanted)
  • 1 C reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 2 C frozen baby peas, thawed
dredge the chicken

Dredge the chicken thighs in 6 T flour plus salt and pepper. Then cook half of it in a large skillet with 2 tsp oil, (2-4 mins per side) put that in the slow cooker, and cook the other half.

2 1/2 pounds of chicken?! “Hey honey, guess what you’re having for lunch this month?”

thick cut bacon

I went for the real bacon…no pre-packaged Oscar Mayer stuff for this dinner…I went straight to the meat counter.

Guinness winter stew

Cut it up and cook it for 2 minutes or so, add the 1/2 cup of flour, cook for a little bit longer and then add the can of beer.  Pour it all on top of the chicken.

side note: I now have 3 more cans of Guinness, and neither Brandon nor I like the stuff. I’ll have to find something else fun to do with them. Maybe I can find some ideas here: 100 Ways to Cook with Guinness…and perhaps a future blog post? woot!

Chop up the veggies. I had a helper with this. This is seriously what I saw the whole time. She was hoping that some carrots would *accidentally* fall (and sure enough, some did).

lucy waiting for carrots

Put everything in the pot! Add the spices too: thyme, garlic, salt and pepper

Winter Guinness Stew Veggies

Let it cook for 4-6 hours on high or until the chicken is “fall apart tender” and stir in the peas for the last 15 minutes. Bon Appetit!

Guinness Stew

Best enjoyed on a cold night! This made a ton, we seriously had plenty for dinner, lunch the next day and I froze a whole container of it for another night.

5 thoughts on “A Winter Stew (recipe)

  1. Wow, this will be a stew that my husband will love because of that Guiness. No kidding, stew with beer is really super. I made that with a Belgian dark beer.

  2. Pingback: kitchen FAIL | stuff steph does

  3. Pingback: Guinness recipe wrap up | stuff steph does

Leave a Reply

